Beef Ambassador program

I mentioned in my first post I’d talk more about my experiences as a beef ambassador.

The National Beef Ambassador Program (NBAP) is a checkoff-funded program sponsored by the American National Cattlewomen (ANCW). Each year, 17- to 20-year-olds from around the country compete for scholarship money and a spot on the five-person NBAP traveling team. Contestants give original 5- to 8-minute speeches highlighting the importance of beef. A panel of judges also interviews the candidates to determine their interpersonal communication skills.

I was a member of the traveling team in 2004. We promoted beef at consumer events and attended beef industry conferences. These were some of my earliest experiences in public relations, an area I decided to study further in college. I enjoyed the opportunity to promote beef to people outside of the industry and talk to producers about how to do the same. 

For more information check out the NBAP Web site:  http://www.nationalbeefambassador.org/Content/

Leave a comment

Filed under Advocacy, beef

Leave a Reply

