My Favorite Article

I recently went through all of my published works to update my curriculum vitae (which can be seen at cgoodcomm.com). I’m proud of all of my writing but one article in particular stuck out for me. While interning at the American Farm Bureau Federation last summer I had the opportunity to write an editorial column on the topic of my choice. I think that editorial titled “Farmer and Ranchers Care About Animal Welfare” sticks with me because it gets to the root of why I’ve chosen the career path I have. I believe that American farmers and ranchers care greatly about their livestock and should be able to continue caring for livestock without unnecessary regulation. Here’s a preview of that editorial:

Farmers and ranchers might not consider themselves animal welfare activists, but no one cares more about the treatment of animals. Who else gets up in the middle of the night to check if any new calves were born? Who else wakes up at daybreak every morning, 365 days a year, to feed their livestock before enjoying their own breakfast?

The dedication and animal husbandry that has always been associated with agriculture is outstanding. Ranchers care about their livestock not just because it’s the right thing to do, but also because it’s their way of life. Healthy animals are the most productive, so it makes economic sense for producers to hold their animals’ wellbeing as a top priority. But, there’s a lot more to it than that. While agriculture is a business, livestock producers don’t pick their career path to get rich quick. They also love the rural lifestyle, the land and the animals. Click here to continue reading.

Leave a comment

Filed under Advocacy, American Farm Bureau, Animal Welfare

Leave a Reply

